Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Lansing Symphony Performs Helms

by sarah - March 5th, 2015.
Filed under: concerts, performance grants. Tagged as: , , .


The Lansing Symphony Orchestra, winner of a 2014 Performance Grant, will present Seven Ascents for Flute and Orchestra by Marjan Helms this weekend.

Helms is the composer in residence at Michigan State University Community Music School and worked with LSO’s principal flautist, Richard Sherman, in composing the work.  It was commissioned and premiered by the Jackson Symphony last year – where Sherman is also principal flute. The Lansing State Journal spoke to both Helms and Sherman this week – be sure to read the article.

Tickets are available for Saturday’s concert here.

Leave a Reply